Wool Crusher Hat - Made in USA

Wool Crusher Hat -  Made in USA
 
 

5 stars
 37 review(s)
4 stars
 1 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars: 
 0 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)




Customer reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
38 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Lee Herzberg
Dec 28, 2013
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I ordered the wool crusher hat for hunting. I had been looking for this hat for some time. I found a few others but price was prohibitive.

When I saw the hat it brought back memories. This was "standard" wear growing up in Oregon and I really missed the availability. There once was a time when this was the only hat "respectable" hunters wore and usually wore it year round. This is one hat that can't be replaced.

Advantages: High vizability for hunting
Get it wet and shape and/or fit
Keeps your head warm and dry on those cold days
"Classic" look
Doesn't make noise in the brush
Full brim, protects eyes, ears, and neck
Comfortable to wear or stick in your pocket
Felt will hold a two month supply of dry flies, wets, nymphs, and streamers also

Disadvantages: A little heavy when wet
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Patricia Badger
Jan 11, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Back in the 70's I bought a red crusher hat and wore it so often my students dubbed it my icon. After much use it began to wear out - literally - holes appeared in the crown. I searched relentlessly for a replacement, but the only hats I could find where too big or inferior. Recently, I discovered one on the HN Williams web site. It is just like my original. I am ecstatic!! Great product, great service, great hat!!!!!

Advantages: After years of searching, I found the perfect crusher hat.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Joan Lafaille
Jan 20, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
The hat was a gift and the recipient was very happy with the gift.

Advantages: It's a camping thing.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Blake Olin
Feb 28, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Same great quality hat that my grandpa wore every day. I was happy to still find them. Great service and quick shipping. Thanks
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Donna Maxwell
Oct 27, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Got these for a 93 year old friend. HNWilliams was the only place we could find this old timer's treasure. He is wearing them with pride.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Michael Berry
Oct 27, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Been looking for one f these for a while. They used to have them in all the small general stores but could never find the right size. Now it's even hard to find them in the stores. This is a great hat at a good price.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
John Cossitt
Jan 19, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Bought my first genuine effenem wool crusher in 1964 and have been wearing them almost every day since. Lost the last one about 3 years ago and had just about given up on finding another (and I looked everywhere!) so I can say that I am delighted with both with the hat and your service. You will be hearing from me again for more products. JOHN

Advantages: Quality. No other brand comes close to these.

Disadvantages: NONE!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
aj oxton
Jan 24, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Thank you for you quick service and especially for having a fine American made product available. And thank you also for your advice regarding what size to buy. Great fit and good colour.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Karen Orr
Nov 19, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great product...can't find these in Oregon where I live....will definitely be ordering more when these two wear out...My hubby has wore these hats for YEARS....the only kind of hat he likes.

Advantages: These are waterproof hats...very good for wearing in the wet weather we get here in Oregon.

Disadvantages: None that I can think of....
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Richard Carson
Jan 22, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is the one. I live in Oregon, we all wore this for hunting and work then couldn't find them again. Glad to be able get the original felt crusher again. Just a little steam to straighten out and form.

Advantages: Quality hat. Easy to form, good fit, water resisrant
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Patrick Legault
Sep 21, 2014
This customer purchased the item at our site.
A really nice hat, fits nicely.
Both effective and stylish.

Advantages: Folds

Disadvantages: I leave the top rounded, so there is a rinkle where the hat suppose to bend.
I hope it will wear off with time.
Or not , not a big downer!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Tom F Eickenberg
Jan 4, 2014
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Nice hat, this is my 3rd Wool Crusher Hat I have had over the years, I got this one to replace one that is over 30 years old, i expect this one to last as long
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
BILLY BROWN
Jan 6, 2014
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Nice product. Very well made. Thanks
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
David Lake
Jan 9, 2014
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I have worn the wool crusher hat for a long time and with a lot of stores going out of business the hats disappeared. I found them again by going online to H.N. Williams Store and I'm glad they still make them. Not all good things have gone overseas. Made In America is what I want to buy. I can trust the quality in the U.S.
Great Job. Keep up the good work.

Advantages: Better Quality. Keeping jobs in America.

Disadvantages: The hat used to cost about 7 or 8 $ But I am willing to pay more to keep jobs in the U.S.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Howard Mager
Jan 16, 2014
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Ordered on Christmas day after giving my trusty green crusher hat to a young lady the day before after a blushing compliment. I love these hats because once you set it with a little steam from an iron (don't directly iron, use the steam on it) and set how you wish, the felt will remember after crushing it for packing. I travel everywhere with it and it never fails to get looks and compliments.

Advantages: Good looks, easy to travel with, reasonably priced hat that will last for ever.

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Normann O
Sep 30, 2014
I am very grateful for all your help with the purchase of my Effanem Crusher hat.
I could not have had better support, service and help. Thank you for making it possible for me to order the hat from Norway.
I am very pleased with the service and delivery from your company. It could not be better. I give you 5 stars.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jean
Oct 13, 2014
This customer purchased the item at our site.
have worn these hats for years, so has hubby. this one is a christmas gift for him

Advantages: fantastic hats lasts for years stays true color best pricing

Disadvantages: none
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
ryan funseth
Nov 30, 2014
This customer purchased the item at our site.
A couple of people have been looking for the hat that I purchased my dad has had one for a long time and nobody on the west coast seems to carry it, I'm very happy that I found this item at your store.

Advantages: the hat is naturally water resistant
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
david somerville
Nov 21, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great hunting hat. Especially for those wet days.

Disadvantages: Runs just a little small in size.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
liz norko
Oct 1, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
great product...great customer service to help with fit pre purchase...quick repsonse to email and prompt shipping....thanks!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
NE Pa. hunter
Oct 19, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Saw these hats for the first time when we went to Maine over 30 yrs. ago, and have been wearing them to hunt ever since, One of the guys bought one, and after his comments about how much he liked it, there were several of us wearing them. We affectionately named them "hoofty hats", because we jokingly said he looked like a hoofty when he wore it for the first time.
I was pleasantly surprised to find this hat is an Effanem and is the same brand as other two I have. They are light weight, water repellent, reasonably warm, comfortable, and last a long time, they are good hats and think they are worth every penny that I have spent on them!

Advantages: Light weight, water repellent, warm, comfortable, long lasting, and also crushable if needed.

Disadvantages: None!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Joe Miller
Nov 12, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Outstanding hat that has remained unchanged for 30 years that I've been wearing them. Size ran a little large for me.

Advantages: Water resistant and tough

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Lee Lynch
Nov 13, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great product.

Advantages: Good in rainy Oregon.

Disadvantages: None.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
RON DAVIDSON
Nov 20, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I bought my first crusher at 16 years of age, for hunting deer and elk in oregon. I still have my red had, and just got back from elk hunting. I am 66 now. I am buying this one for my nephew, It has survived coastal storms, snow, and rain, and still kept my head dry.

Disadvantages: everyone wants to steal my hat.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
John Hollimon
Dec 3, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is an excellent hat. It is good for cool to cold weather. Actually, I'm guessing about the cold weather as I live in the South. And this hat is seldom seen down here so it attracts some attention. Mostly in a good way. I really like it.

Advantages: Great fit. Well made and seems to be durable. Not sure about the durability as I just got it.

Disadvantages: None noted.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)