100% Wool Pant by Johnson Wool of Vermont, Worsted Whipcord

100% Wool Pant by Johnson Wool of Vermont, Worsted Whipcord
 
 

5 stars
 11 review(s)
4 stars: 
 0 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars
 1 review(s)
1 stars
 1 review(s)




Customer reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
13 results found
Show results 1 - 13
Laurent Douziech
Jan 4, 2014
This customer purchased the item at our site.
These pants and a good fitting pant, conservative cut, so you can use them for a dressier occasion, or just to keep warm. They are fairly good quality, tightly woven. It wasn't cheap, with duty to Canada, and exchange it adds up! But there wasn't much to pick from on the internet. I am glad they they are still making them after all these years!

Advantages: Wool, tight weave, right fit (32" waist, 32" inseam, 6', 180lbs), great colour (military green), USA Made!

Disadvantages: Too expensive (over $150, exchange, and duty!)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (1)
Larry Bucher
Aug 30, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Five Star, both product and service. For decades I purchased wool whipcord trousers from Filson's. they no longer sell them, a big mistake in my opinion. I will be wearing your pants in Alaska in a few short weeks. They are just what I had hoped they would be. Thank you
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
David Dobler
Oct 26, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Very nice pants. Very well-made, cut neither slim nor full but very easy to walk in. The sizing is exact--no extra in the waist. The whipcord fabric has a wonderful feel and hand, drapes well. Rich color and texture without being showy.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (1)
Live outdoors in an Airstream
Jan 9, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I've owned Johnson Wool products for over 40 years that still look new. I had a pair of these Whipcords, but donated them a few years ago thinking I would never need them in the State of NC. I spent a few years looking for this style, purchased a few pairs, sent them back, and finally came the RIGHT pair and style at H.N. Williams. Totally pleased with them. They are traditional and comfortable and I know will last for many years.

Advantages: Classic look, can be worn with sport jacket for semi-office or sweater as casual. Hang straight and do NOT wrinkle. Are mid-weight and the loden color blends with many colors. The wool goes great with both flannel and corduroy shirts.

Makes a statement for whatever you are doing, you are comfortable knowing that you are thinking Vermont living, more than say working at a desk.

Disadvantages: Depending on where you live, your ability to wear these will be based on the temperature of the cooler seasons. A mid-heavier weight than a dress lighter pant whip cord style. Not much more to say.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Stephen Phelps
Nov 14, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I owned a pair of Willis & Geiger wool whipcord pants for 30 years. They were done for -- and the company is gone. LL Bean does NOT make an equivalent pant.. BUT the Johnson wool pant, to my astonished delight is an exact equal of the classic wool whipcord pant. It is a perfect garment. If I live to 100, I could be buried in the Johnson wool pant -- except I'll have to leave them to one of the boys in my will. You cannot go wrong buying these trousers.

Advantages: And you can wear them out of the woods straight to work or a party -- if you change your shirt.

Disadvantages: Zero. Yeah, they cost a little more, but you'll forget what you paid soon enough.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (1)
Roger Rollins
May 25, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Thank you for offering whipcord slacks. I have looked hard to find a manufacturer and yours are excellent.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Peter White
Jan 11, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
American Made products are important to me. These were my first new pair of Johnson wool pants in 30 years and they are awesome. HN Williams has also proven to be a great supplier of Johnson Woolen products and their service has been second to none.
I had inherited my Grand fathers and my Dad's Malone pants when they grew out of them. I have passed them down to to my son in law. They wear like iron.


Advantages: I like H.N. Williams down to earth approach to on line merchandising. There are names of the people you deal with and people to talk to. There return service was excellent!

Disadvantages: Only that they are too far from home to visit regularly!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (1)
Martin Pasquale
Nov 22, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
The pants I ordered came promptly and in good condition. They are well tailored and excellent quality. Fit is good with a nice drape to the material.

Disadvantages: The picture on your website shows what appears to be a slightly wider bottom than the trousers I received. This would allow for wearing western boots more comfortably.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (3)
Edward P. McKinney
Feb 28, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Well made 11 oz. tight weave good looking wool whipcord trousers made for outside or inside work including winter office wear. A non-roll waist band would be beneficial. Best if worn with a heavy weight (1/4") belt with or without suspenders. Reminds me of the old Army wool O.D. trousers of long ago for those of us old enough to have worn them.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Randy Johnson
Nov 18, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Awesome pants. Made in USA. Fit is great, nice looking pretty heavy material.

Advantages: 100% wool, warm, sheds water, made in USA.

Disadvantages: Unlined
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
DC
Jan 3, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Prompt delivery. Nice material, good all-weather weight, but there is something "off" about the cut, and they just don't fit me properly - can't put my finger on it, but it's just not right. Will be returning them.

Advantages: a decent 3-season weight (though probably not ideal for sub-zero cold). Nice feel to the fabric.

Disadvantages: Something is 'off' about the cut - perhaps the rise is too long? pockets don't really seem cut for putting anything inside them - including your hands - unless you get the pants oversize. I usually wear a 42 waist, and order 44, and they were snug, and I couldn't comfortably put my hands in the pockets.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
David E Huff
Mar 6, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Excellent quality, fit, and wear and it's not just for the outdoors. I love this heavier weight pant for the coldest months even in Indiana.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
Dave Kehn
Oct 2, 2018
I have owned whipcord pants from other sporting goods companies. These companies sell imported “knock-offs”. Wool pants by Johnson Wool of Vermont are the real thing. Made in USA

Advantages: The construction of these pants cut no corners. Pockets, waist band and stitching all heavy duty to wear for years. Comfortable to hike and work in and very quiet in the woods. Pants look just as good in a nice restaurant as they do in the back country.

Disadvantages: Pricey but I think there worth every penny.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)